2018 National Elite Senior Finals Date CONFIRMED

Traditionally taking place on a Friday night, this year’s National Elite Senior Championship finals will run on a Saturday night.

This afternoon the Irish Athletic Boxing Association (IABA) have confirmed that the 20 new Senior champions will be crowned on Saturday February 24th at the National Stadium.

Both the men’s and women’s finals will be decided on a bumper night, with 17 finals set to be up for decision – Conor Quinn, Joanne Lambe, and Aoife O’Rourke are the only entrants in their respective weights and have received walkovers.

The tournament kicked off last Friday with quarter-finals. The semi-finals will take place across Friday and Saturday this weekend, then there is the big finals night next weekend.

While it is yet to be confirmed by the IABA themselves, it has been reported widely that RTÉ are to return to air the finals for the first time since 2013.

The ongoing championships are the first of two to take place this year to facilitate Olympic qualifiers. The ‘2019’ championships will take place in September for women and November for men.

Friday February 16th (7pm)
69kg Connie Vaughan (Duhallow) V Ciara Sheedy (Ardnaree)
75kg Kelyn Cassidy (Saviours Crystal) V Peter Carr (Crumlin)
75kg Glory Carlos Imuala (Maynooth) V Brett McGinty (Oakleaf)
75kg John Maughan (St Marys Dublin) V Gerard French (Clonard Antrim)
75kg Michael Nevin (Portlaoise) V David Biscevas (St Saviours OBA)
81kg Brian Kennedy (St Marys Daingean) V Robert Burke (Glasnevin)
81kg Tony Browne (St Michaels Dub) V David Tsotsoria (Illies GG)
91kg Kevin Sheehy (St Francis) V Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone)
57kg Dervla Duffy (Mulhuddart) V Ashley McCullough (Albert Foundry)
56kg Myles Casey (St Francis) V Evan Metcalfe (Hyland Academy)
56kg Thomas McCarthy (Setanta) V Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise)
60kg Patrick Mongan (Olympic) V George Bates (St Marys Dublin)
60kg Francis Cleary (Ballina) V Adam Kelly (Portlaoise)
64kg Keith Flavin (Paulstown) V Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise)
64kg Caoimhin Ferguson (Clonard A) V Colm Quinn (Castlebar)
69kg Dean Walsh (St Ibars) V Kieran Molloy (Oughterard)
69kg Eugene McKeever (Holy Family D) V Tony McGlynn (Crumlin)

Saturday February 17th (7.30pm)
48kg Courtney Daly (Crumlin) V Shannon Sweeney (St Annes)
48kg Megan Doyle (Whitechurch) V Carol Coughlan (Monkstown D)
57kg Tiegan Russell (Fr Horgans) V Michaela Walsh (Monkstown A)
69kg Grainne Walsh (Sparticus) V Winner
69kg Gillian Duffy (Bray) V Ciara Ginty (Geesala)
75kg Winner V Winner
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Karol Blugosz (Scorpion) V Winner
81kg Winner V Caomhin Hynes (Holy Trinity)
91kg Liam Greene (South Meath) V Winner
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Smithfield) V Jason Barron (Holy Trinity)
91+kg Martin Keenan (Rathkeale) V John McDonnell (Crumlin)
91+kg Patrick Nevin (St Michaels Dub) V Dean Gardiner (Clonmel)

February 24th
48kg Winner V Winner
49kg Ricky Nesbitt (Carrickmacross) V Conor Jordan (St Aidans)
51kg Ceire Smith (Virginia/DCU) V Niamh Earley (Ryston)
52kg Conor Quinn (Clonard Antrim) W/O
54kg Lauren Hogan (St Brigids E) V Amanda Loughlin (St Michaels Dub)
56kg Winner V Winner
57kg Winner V Winner
60kg Winner V Winner
60kg Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan) V Kelly Harrington (St Marys Dublin)
64kg Joanne Lambe (Carrickmacross) W/O
64kg Winner V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
75kg Aoife Burke (St Marys Dublin) V Christina Desmond (Fr Horgans)
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea) W/O
81kg Winner V Winner
81+kg Lisa Browne (Aglish) V Nell Fox (Rathkeale)
91kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Winner V Winner


February 9th
56kg Evan Metcalfe (Hyland Academy) beat Adam Courtney (St Marys Dublin) 3-0
56kg Thomas McCarthy (Setanta) W/O
56kg Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise) beat Tommy Casey (St Francis) 5-0
60kg Patrick Mongan (Olympic Galway) beat Dillon Duffy (Pegasus) 4-1
60kg George Bates (St Marys Dublin) beat Shane Flavin (Paulstown) 5-0
60kg Francis Cleary (Ballina) beat Sean Duffy (Holy Trinity) 5-0
60kg Adam Kelly (Portlaoise) W/O
69kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard) beat Fergal Redmond (Arklow) 5-0
69kg Eugene McKeever (Holy Family D) beat Michael Hennessy (St Monicas) 5-0
69kg Tony McGlynn (Crumlin) beat David Barrett (Rylane) 4-1
64kg Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise) beat Matthew McCole (Dungloe) 5-0
91+kg Martin Keenan (Rathkeale) beat Geoffrey Kavanagh (Glasnevin) 4-1
91+kg John McDonnell (Crumlin) beat Antoine Griffin (Celtic Eagles) 4-1
91+kg Patrick Nevin (St Michaels Dub) beat Konstantin Popovcuic (Crumlin) 4-1
91kg+ Dean Gardiner (Clonmel) beat Thomas Carthy (Glasnevin) 5-0


Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on irish-boxing.com, Boxing News, the42.ie, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: joneill6@tcd.ie