2019 National Elite Senior Championships – DAY 1 RESULTS

The 2019 National Elite Championships kicked off tonight in Dublin.

11 bouts in the quarter-finals and last 16 were completed at the National Stadium, with nine of the victors set to return to the ring tomorrow night for quarter-final action.

THere was high drama on the South Circular Road, with Aidan Walsh edging fellow Ulster welterweight champ Eugene McKeever on a 3-2 split in the eye-catching fight on the card while Commonwealth bronze medallist James McGivern overcame Intermediate champ Senan Kelly at light welter.

21 years on from his first Seniors, the returning Tommy Sheahan defeated Denis Borskins to set up a quarter with reigning champ Dean Gardiner, with Commownealth Games participant Stephen McMonaghle progressing on the other side of the draw.

Christian Cekiso and Tommy Casey both won in the first men’s featherweight bouts to take place at The Stadium since the clas was revived while Gerard Matthews, Kenneth Doyle, Michael Avetisian, Aaron Daly, and Matthew McCole were also winners on the night.

Boxing tomorrow night begins at 5:30pm and there are a number of fantastic match-ups amongst a bumper 19-fight programme .

There is a battle of the Walshes at welter with Aidan and Dean (no relation) going up against each other while reigning light welter champ Wayne Kelly faces McGivern. Fearghus Quinn v Gerard French is a nice all-Ulster battle between two strong fighters at middleweight alongside the showdown between reigning champ Michael Nevin and Gabriel Dossen, many peoples’ predicted final. Then there is a fascinating battle of the Celtic Eagles clubmates, with Gytis Lisinskas and Toto Ó Griofa meeting at super heavyweight.

Friday February 8th
63kg James McGivern (St George’s) beat Senan Kelly (Crumlin) 5-0
63kg Gerard Matthews (St Pauls A) beat Stephen Lockhart (Baldoyle) 5-0
63kg Kenneth Doyle (Monkstown D) beat Craig Kavanagh (Crumlin) 4-1
63kg Matthew McCole (Dungloe) beat Dylan Duffy (Pegasus) 5-0
63kg Michael Avetisian (Swords) beat Terry McEntee (Old School/DCU) 4-1
69kg Aaron Daly (Castlebar) beat Fergal Redmond (Arklow) 5-0
69kg Aidan Walsh (Monkstown A) beat Eugene McKeever (Holy Family D) 3-2
91+kg Tommy Sheahan (St Michael’s K) beat Denis Borskins (Sacred Heart Newry) 5-0
91+kg Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity) beat James Clarke (Crumlin) 4-1
Quarter Finals
57kg Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise) beat Conor Kerr (Monkstown Antrim) 5-0
57kg Tommy Casey (St Francis’s) beat Adam Courtney (St Mary’s Dublin) 4-0

Saturday February 9th
Quarter Finals
63kg Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise) V James McGivern (St Georges)
63kg Gerard Matthews (St Pauls Antrim) V Kenneth Doyle (Monkstown Dub)
63kg Keith Flavin (Paulstown) V Matthew McCole (Dungloe)
63kg Michael Avetisian (Swords) V George Bates (St Mary’s Dublin)
69kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard) V Aaron Daly (Castlebar)
69kg Michael McGrane (Crumlin) v Luke Maguire (Esker)
69kg Paddy Donovan (OLOL) v Conor Ivors (St Francis’s)
69kg Dean Walsh (St Joseph’s/St Ibar’s) v Aidan Walsh (Monkstown A)
75kg Michael Nevin (Portlaoise) v Gabriel Dossen (Olympic)
75kg Kelyn Cassidy (Saviours Crystal) v Blue McGinty (Oakleaf)
75kg Fearghus Quinn (Camlough) v Gerard French (Clonard)
75kg Tony McGlynn (Crumlin) Emmett Brennan (Glasnevin)
81kg David Bicevis (Saviours) v Robbie Burke (Glasnevin)
91kg Tony Browne (St Michael’s D) v Liam Greene (South Meath)
91kg Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone) v Danny O’Brien (Santry)
91kg Geoff Kavanagh (St Michael’s D) v Karol Dlugosz (Scorpion)
+91kg Dean Gardiner (Clonmel) v Tommy Sheahan (St Michael’s K)
+91kg Dean Scullion (Loughshore) v Thomas Carthy (Crumlin)
+91kg Gytis Lisinskas (Celtic Eagles) v Antoine Griffin (Celtic Eagles)
+91kg Martin Keenan (Rathkeale) v Stephen McMonagle (Holy Trinity)

Friday February 15th
Quarter Finals
48kg Chloe Fleck (Canal) v Carol Coughlan (Monkstown)
48kg Ciara Walsh (Smithfield) v Donna Barr (Illies GG)
Semi Finals
49kg Sean Mari (Monkstown) v Rory Baird (Ederney)
52kg Adam Hession (Monivea) v Ricky Nesbitt (Holy Family D)
57kg Myles Casey (St Francis) v Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise)
57kg Paddy Adamus (Drimnagh) v Tommy Casey (St Francis’s)
60kg David Oliver Joyce (Ballymun) v Shane Flavin (Paulstown)
57kg Mary Geraghty (St Anthony’s) v Dervla Duffy (Crumlin)
64kg Shauna O’Callaghan (Clann Naofa) v Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan)
69kg Christina Desmond (Fr Horgan’s) v Tina Donnelly (Docklands)
69kg Gillian Duffy (St Mary’s D) v Grainne Walsh (Sparticus)

Saturday February 16th
Semi Finals
48kg Courtney Daly (Crumlin) v Winner
48kg Emma Feeney (Virginia) v Winner
63kg Winner v Winner
63kg Winner v Winner
69kg Winner v Winner
69kg Winner v Winner
75kg Winner v Winner
75kg Winner v Winner
81kg Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles) v Winner
81kg Paul McCullagh (St John Bosco) v Tommy Hyde (Mayfield)
91kg Kirill Afanasev (Smithfield) v Winner
91kg Winner v Winner
+91kg Winner v Winner
+91kg Winner v Winner

Saturday February 23rd
49kg Regan Buckley v Winner
52kg Evan Metcalfe (Hyland BA) v Winner
57kg Winner v Winner
60kg Winner v Winner
63kg Winner v Winner
69kg Winner v Winner
75kg Winner v Winner
81kg Winner v Winner
91kg Winner v Winner
91kg Winner v Winner
51kg Carly McNaul (Holy Family) v Niamh Earley (Ryston)
54kg Emma Flannery W/O
57kg Michaela Walsh (Monkstown A) v Winner
60kg Kelly Harrington (St Mary’s D) W/O
48kg Winner v Winner
64kg Moira McElligott (St Michael’s K) v Winner
69kg Winner v Winner
75kg Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea) v Cheyanne O’Neill (Athlone)
80kg Leona Houlihan (Crumlin) v Lisa Browne (Aglish)
+81kg Nell Fox (Rathkeale) W/O


logo may

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on irish-boxing.com, Boxing News, the42.ie, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: joneill6@tcd.ie