AmateurHeadline News

List of Irish EU medal winners- Joyce equals Kenny Egan’s hat-trick

David Oliver Joyce matched Ken Egan’s European Union Elite Men’s Championships hat-trick in Sofia, Bulgaria on Saturday.

Both boxers have now won three EU gold medals each.

Darren O’Neill and Michael O’Reilly won silver in Sofia yesterday and Hughie Myers secured bronze.

The Irish squad arrived home via Dublin Airport this morning.

Ireland has won medals at every European Union Elite Championships since the inaugural tournament in Strasburg, France in 2003.

Egan has claimed the most medals – three gold, one silver and two bronze – of any Irish boxer at this level, but David Oliver Joyce has never been beaten at EU level.

The St Michael’s Athy man has won eleven from eleven over the last six years.

Katie Taylor has won five European Union Elite Women’s Championships gold medals – in-a-row.

Ireland at the EU Elite Men’s Championships

2003 Strasburg, France
Ken Egan (silver)
Paul McCloskey (silver)
Brian Gillen (bronze)
Andy Murray (bronze)
Alan Reynolds (bronze)

2004 Madrid, Spain
Andy Lee (silver)

2005, Cagliari, Italy
Ken Egan (gold)

2006 Pecs, Hungary
Ken Egan (bronze)

2007 Dublin, Ireland
Roy Sheahan (gold)
Darren Sutherland (gold)
Ken Egan (gold)
Carl Frampton (silver)
Cathal McMonagle (silver)

2008, Cetniewo, Poland
John Joe Nevin (gold)
David Oliver Joyce (gold)
Darren Sutherland (gold)
Ken Egan (gold)
Paddy Barnes (silver)
Con Sheehan (silver)

2009 Odense, Denmark
David Oliver Joyce (gold)
Darren O’Neill (gold)
Con Sheehan (gold)
Declan Geraghty (silver)
John Joe Nevin (silver)
Willie McLaughlin (silver)
Eric Donovan (bronze)
Phil Sutcliffe (bronze)
Ken Egan (bronze)

2014 Sofia, Bulgaria
David Oliver Joyce (gold)
Darren O’Neill (silver)
Michael O’Reilly (silver)
Hughie Myers (bronze)


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years