Headline NewsNews

Katie Taylor makes RTE Sportsperson of the Year shortlist

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is liffey-crane-hire-1.jpg

Katie Taylor is the last boxer standing after the RTÉ Sport Awards 2019 Sportsperson of the Year list was whittled down.

The Bray fighter was among three boxers named on the original 26 person long list.

European Championship gold medal winner Aoife O’Rourke and European Games gold medal winner Kurt Walker were the other boxers originally nominated, but neither made the shortlist.

Taylor enjoyed another sensational year. The Matchroom fighter became the first every Irish fighter to unify an entire division and joined Steve Collins and Carl Frampton on the two weight World champion list.

However, golfer Shane Lowry is the clear bookies favourite.

Here is the shortlist of nominees for the RTÉ Sport Awards 2019 Sportsperson of the Year, which will be decided by a 12-person judging panel.

  • Seamus Callanan
  • Stephen Cluxton
  • Niamh Kilkenny
  • Shane Lowry
  • Ciara Mageean
  • Rhys McClenaghan
  • Denise O’Sullivan
  • Sanita Puspure
  • Jason Smyth
  • Katie Taylor

Barry McGuigan won the inaugural award back in 1985, the next boxer to pick it up was Michael Carruth in 1992, Katie Taylor won in 2012 and Michael Conlan was the last Irish boxer to win it having picked it up in 2015.

Conor McGregor, who had a professional boxing bout, won the honour in 2016.


Jonny Stapleton

Irish-boxing.com contributor for 15 years and editor for the past decade. Have been covering boxing for over 16 years and writing about sports for a living for over 20 years. Former Assistant Sports editor for the Gazette News Paper Group and former Tallaght Voice Sports Editor. Have had work published in publications around the world when working as a freelance journalist. Also co-founder of Junior Sports Media and Leinster Rugby PRO of the Year winner. email: editoririshboxing@gmail.com