AmateurHeadline News

Irish team to compete in Bee Gee Multi Nations

Team Ireland fly out to Finland tomorrow ahead of the start of the Gee Bee Multi-Nations in Helsinki.

The 34th edition of the tournament begins on Friday and concludes on Sunday in the Finnish capital.

Ireland has take home 17 medals, eight of which have been gold, from four of the last five Gee Bee Multi-Nations – Ireland didn’t compete at the 2012 event.

David Oliver Joyce has won a hat-trick of Gee Bee gold this decade, while the 2011 squad topped the medals table in Helsinki.

Two members of the current squad, Olympian Adam Nolan and Kurt Walker, finished in podium positions at the 2011 and 2014 tournaments.

Click here for officials website and here for invitation.

Irish Gee Bee Medal Medals winners 2010 to 2014

2010: David Oliver Joyce (Gold), Eamonn O’Kane (Silver), Ryan Lindberg (Silver), Declan Geraghty (Silver), Tommy McCarthy (Bronze)

2011: Michael Conlan (Gold) David Oliver Joyce (Gold), Jason Quigley (Gold), Kenneth Egan (Gold), Tommy McCarrhy (Gold), Adam Nolan (Bronze)

2013: David Oliver Joyce (Gold), Dean Gardiner (Silver), Hugh Myers (Bronze), Darren O’Neill (Bronze)

2014: Hugh Myers (Gold), Kurt Walker (Bronze)

Irish squad 2015 Gee Bee Multi-Nations Helsinki, Finland March 13th/15th

49kg: Brendan Irvine (St Paul’s Antrim)
52kg: Myles Casey (St Francis)
56kg: Kurt Walker (Canal)
60kg: George Bates (St Marys)
69kg: Adam Nolan (Bray)
75kg: Conor Coyle (St Josephs, Derry)

Team manager: Peter O’Donnell

Coaches: Billy Walsh,Noel Burke
R&J: Ben McGarrigle


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years