AmateurHeadline News

Impressive Ireland defeat India in Mayo

Ireland came from behind to beat India 9-3 at the Royal Theatre in Castlebar last night.

Brendan Irvine, Jordan Moore, George Bates, Wayne Kelly, Kieran Molloy,  Michael Nevin, Tony Brown, Kiril Afanasev and Dean Gardiner did the business for the hosts.

Rickey Nesbitt lost out Himanshu Sharma in the opening bout on a split while Conor Quinn was defeated by recent Commonwealth gold medallist Guarav Solanki in the flyweight class.

Rio Olympian and team captain Irvine, who was beaten in the Commonwealth final by Solanki last month doubling up at flyweight, found the target with crisp shots against Salman Shaikh to get Ireland on the board while, in his Elite International debut, Jordan Moore, showcasing aggression and style, restored parity on a 4-1 split over Madan Lal.

Dublin lightweight Bates edged Ireland in front for the first time in the match, the Irish Elite champion working well from body to head against the durable Ankush Dahiya

There was no joy for Kenneth Doyle on his Elite debut, losing a split, but Wayne Kelly then edged Ireland in front once again, digging deep to claim a split win of his own.

Molloy was then involved in the bout of the night with WSB fighter Duryodhan Singh Negi, the recent bBest Boxer at the Irish Elite championships and star performer on the U.S. tour taking a unanimous win.

Michael Nevin then ensured that Ireland could not be beaten with a win over Commonwealth silver medallist Mandeep Janjar, and and Browne, Afansaev and Gardiner, who forced Parveen Kumar into a count in the third, sealed victory.

Both nations trained at the Lough Lannagh Centre and the Castlebar BC ahead of last night’s international.

John Conlan, Eoin Pluck and Martin Donovan worked Ireland’s corner in Castlebar.

Ireland v India Castlebar May 26th
49kg Ricky Nesbitt lost to Himanshu Sharma 1-4
52kg Connor Quinn lost to Gaurav Solanki 0-5
52kg Brendan Irvine beat Salman Shaikh 5-0
56kg Jordan Moore beat Madan Lal 4-1
60kg George Bates beat Ankush Dahiya 4-1
64kg Kenneth Doyle lost to Ashish 2-3
64kg Wayne Kelly beat Dheeraj 4-1
69kg Kieran Molloy beat Duryodhan Singh Negi 5-0
75kg Michael Nevin beat Mandeep Janjra 5-0
81kg Tony Browne beat Manish Panwar 5-0
9kkg Kirill Afanasev beat Sanjeet 4-1
91+kg Dean Gardiner beat Parveen Kumar 5-0


logo may

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: