AmateurHeadline News

2019 National Elite Senior Championships – ENTRY LIST

A total of 99 boxers have entered the upcoming National Elite Senior Championships which begin in Dublin on Friday.

All twenty weights will have entries – although unless there are some late entries we are set for walkover wins in five of the female classes.

12 reigning champions have entered – with Aoife O’Rourke now at middleweight – 16 of the Under-22 champions from last month, 7 Ulster champions, and 11 of the Intermediate champions.

‘The Seniors’ will be the first national tournament to feature the updated weight categories – with men’s bantam moving up one kilo and becoming featherweight [57kg] and men’s light welter dropping one kilo to 63kg. In addition the women’s light heavy class has dropped one kilo to 80kg and, therefore, heavyweight becomes +80kg.

The results over the next month will play a part in selection for the major tournaments scheduled for this year – European Games and World Championships for the men, and European Games, European Championships, and World Championships for the women.

Preliminaries will run this weekend with semi finals next weekend and a big finals night on Friday February 22nd.

Check out tomorrow for our full preview of every division.

49kg – Light Flyweight
Rory Baird (Ederney)
Regan Buckley (St Teresa’s)
Sean Mari (Monsktown Dublin)

52kg – Flyweight
Adam Hession (Monivea)
Evan Metcalfe (Hyland BA)
Ricky Nesbitt (Holy Family D)

57kg – Featherweight
Myles Casey (St Francis’s)
Tommy Casey (St Francis’s)
Patryk Adamus (Drimnagh)
Adam Courtney (St Mary’s Tallaght)
Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise)
Conor Kerr (Monkstown Antrim)

60kg – Lightweight
Yannick Meseke (Olympic)
David Oliver Joyce (Ballymun)
Shane Flavin (Paulstown)
Dominic Bradley (Errigal)
George Bates (St Mary’s Tallaght)

63kg – Light Welterweight
Craig Kavanagh (Crumlin)
Senan Kelly (Crumlin)
Edward Barrett (Olympic)
Terry McEntee (DCU Athletic/Old School)
Stephen Lockhart (Baldoyle)
James McGivern (St George’s)
Michael Avetisian (Swords)
Dylan Duffy (Pegasus)
Matthew McCole (Dungloe)
Kenneth Doyle (Monkstown Dublin)
Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise)
Pierce O’Leary (Dublin Docklands)

69kg – Welterweight
Michael Kinsella (St Anthonys/St Pats)
Conor Ivors (St Francis)
Dean Walsh (St Ibars/St Josephs)
Patrick Donovan (OLOL)
Kieran Molloy (Oughterard)
Aaron Daly (Castlebar)
Fergal Redmond (Arklow)
Luke Maguire (Esker)
Michael McGrane (Crumlin)
Eugene McKeever (Holy Family D)

75kg – Middleweight
John Joe Nevin (Crumlin)
Gabriel Dossen (Olympic)
Fearghus Quinn (Camlough)
Gerard French (Emerald, Antrim)
Emmett Brennan (Glasnevin)
Kelyn Cassidy (Saviours Crystal)
Brett McGinty (Oakleaf)
Tony McGlynn (Crumlin)
Glory Carlos Lmuala (Maynooth)
Michael Nevin (Portlaoise)

81kg – Light Heavyweight
Robbie Burke (Glasnevin)
Tommy Hyde (Mayfield)
Paul McCullagh (St John Bosco)
Joe Ward (Sparticus)
Thomas O’Toole (Celtic Eagles)
David Biscevas (St Saviour’s)

91kg – Heavyweight
Kirill Afanasev (Smithfield)
Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone)
Kevin Sheehy (St Francis’s)
Danny O’Brien (Santry/DCU)
Liam Green (South Meath)
Damien Sullivan (Emerald Antrim)
Karol Długosz (Scorpion)
Tony Browne (St Michael’s Dublin)
Geoff Kavanagh (St Michaels Dublin)

91+kg – Super Heavyweight
John McDonnell (Crumlin)
James Clarke (Crumlin)
Thomas Carthy (Crumlin)
Martin Keenan (Rathkeale)
Denis Borskins (Sacred Heart Newry)
Dean Gardiner (Clonmel)
Dean Scullion (Loughshore)
Tommy Sheahan (St Michael’s Athy)
Antoine Ó Griofa (Celtic Eagles)
Gytis Lisinskas (Celtic Eagles)

48kg – Light Flyweight
Courtney Daly (Crumlin)
Ciara Walsh (Smithfield)
Chloe Fleck (Lisburn)
Donna Barr (Illies GG)
Emma Feeney (Virginia Cavan)
Carol Coughlan (Monkstown Dublin)

51kg – Flyweight
Niamh Earley (Ryston)

54kg – Bantamweight
Emma Flannery (Baldoyle)

57kg – Featherweight
Dearbhla Duffy (Crumlin)
Isabella Hughes (Mount Tallant)
Mary Geraghty (St Anthony’s Dublin)
Michaela Walsh (Monkstown Antrim)

60kg – Lightweight
Kelly Harrington (St Mary’s Tallaght)

64kg – Light Welterweight
Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan)
Shauna O’Callaghan (Clann Naofa)
Chelsey Orr (Ards)
Moira McElligott (St Michael’s Athy)

69kg – Welterweight
Chayanne O’Neill (Athlone)
Gillian Duffy (St Mary’s Tallaght)
Clodagh Greene (Crumlin)
Christina Desmond (Fr Horgan’s)
Grainne Walsh (Sparticus)
Tina Donnelly (Dublin Docklands)

75kg – Middleweight
Leona Houlihan (Crumlin)
Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea)

80kg – Light Heavyweight
Lisa Browne (Aglish)

80kg+ – Heavyweight
Nell Fox (Rathkeale)


logo may

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: