2018 National Elite Senior Championships – DRAW

The draw has been made for the 2017 National Elite Senior Championships.

The first of two championships taking place this year to allow for Olympic qualifiers next year, the field features a host of new names and rising talents.

This morning the draw was made and below are theline-ups for the competition. Finals order to-be-confirmed.

Boxing being this Friday.

National Elite Championships, National Stadium, Dublin
Friday February 9th – 7:00pm
56kg Adam Courtney (St Marys Dublin) V Evan Metcalfe (Hyland Academy)
56kg Eamon McNally (St Michaels Ant) V Thomas McCarthy (Setanta)
56kg Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise) V Tommy Casey (St Francis)
60kg Patrick Mongan (Olympic Galway) V Dillon Duffy (Pegasus)
60kg Shane Flavin (Paulstown) V George Bates (St Marys Dublin)
60kg Sean Duffy (Holy Trinity) V Francis Cleary (Ballina)
60kg Adam Kelly (Portlaoise) V Yannick Meseke (Leos)
69kg Kieran Molloy (Oughterard) V Fergal Redmond (Arklow)
69kg Eugene McKeever (Holy Family D) V Michael Hennessy (St Monicas)
69kg Tony McGlynn (Crumlin) V David Barrett (Rylane)
64kg Matthew McCole (Dungloe) V Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise)
91+kg Martin Keenan (Rathkeale) V Geoffrey Kavanagh (Glasnevin)
91+kg John McDonnell (Crumlin) V Antoine Griffin (Celtic Eagles)
91+kg Patrick Nevin (St Michaels Dub) V Konstantin Popovcuic (Crumlin)
91+kg Thomas Carthy (Glasnevin) V Dean Gardiner (Clonmel)

Friday February 16th – 7:00pm
69kg Connie Vaughan (Duhallow) V Ciara Sheedy (Ardnaree)
75kg Kelyn Cassidy (Saviours Crystal) V Peter Carr (Crumlin)
75kg Glory Carlos Imuala (Maynooth) V Brett McGinty (Oakleaf)
75kg John Maughan (St Marys Dublin) V Gerard French (Clonard Antrim)
75kg Michael Nevin (Portlaoise) V David Biscevas (St Saviours OBA)
81kg Brian Kennedy (St Marys Daingean) V Robert Burke (Glasnevin)
81kg Tony Browne (St Michaels Dub) V Davit Tsotsoria (Illies GG)
91kg Kevin Sheehy (St Francis) V Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone)

56kg Myles Casey (St Francis) V Winner
56kg Winner V Winner
60kg Winner V Winner
60kg Winner V Winner
64kg Keith Flavin (Paulstown) V Winner
64kg Caoimhin Ferguson (Clonard A) V Colm Quinn (Castlebar)
69kg Dean Walsh (St Ibars) V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner

Saturday Febraury 17th – 7:00pm
48kg Courtney Daly (Crumlin) V Shannon Sweeney (St Annes )
48kg Megan Doyle (Whitechurch) V Carol Coughlan (Monkstown D)
57kg Dervla Duffy (Mulhuddart) V Ailish McCullough (Albert Foundry)
57kg Tiegan Russell (Fr Horgans) V Michaela Walsh (Monkstown A)
69kg Grainne Walsh (Sparticus) V Winner
69kg Gillian Duffy (Bray) V Ciara Ginty (Geesala)
75kg Winner V Winner
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Karol Blugosz (Scorpion) V Winner
81kg Winner V Caomhin Hynes (Holy Trinity)
91kg Liam Greene (South Meath) V Winner
91kg Kiril Afanasev (Smithfield) V Jason Barron (Holy Trinity)
91+kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Winner V Winner

Friday February 23rd and/or Saturday February 24th
48kg Winner V Winner
49kg Ricky Nesbitt (Carrickmacross) V Conor Jordan (St Aidans)
51kg Ceire Smith (Virginia/DCU) V Niamh Early (Ryston)
52kg Conor Quinn (Clonard Antrim) W/O
54kg Lauren Hogan (St Brigids E) V Amanda Loughlin (St Michaels Dub)
56kg Winner V Winner
57kg Winner V Winner
60kg Winner V Winner
60kg Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan) V Kellie Harrington (St Marys Dublin)
64kg Joanne Lambe (Carrickmacross) W/O
64kg Winner V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
69kg Winner V Winner
75kg Aoife Burke (St Marys Dublin) V Christina Desmond (Fr Horgans)
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea) W/O
81kg Winner V Winner
81+kg Lisa Browne (Aglish) V Nell Fox (Rathkeale)
91kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Winner V Winner


Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on irish-boxing.com, Boxing News, the42.ie, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: joneill6@tcd.ie