AmateurHeadline News

National Under-22 Championships – RESULTS + REPORT

The National Under-22 Championships came to an exciting close tonight with 15 top-quality finals in Dublin.

In all, including walkovers, 19 champions were crowned as boxing at the National Stadium got off to a strong start with one of the highest quality fields ever seen in an Irish Under-22 tournament.

While not assured of a place on the plane, tonight’s winners will also be hoping to represent Ireland at the European Under-22 Championships in Vladikavkaz, Russia, in March.

Crumlin’s Courtney Daly started the night off, using her range and experience – and, at times, grit – to defeat the relentless Ciara Walsh from Smithfield and take the light flyweight title.

Winning his first Irish title since returning from the pro ranks, Bray’s Regan Buckley was too strong for recent Ulster Elite Senior champ Jack O’Neill.

Niamh Earley took a second successive flyweight title. The Ryston former World Junior silver medallist beat World Youth bronze medallist Caitlin Fryers in a scrappy contest.

In the men’s fly final, Galway pocket rocket Adam Hession looked impressive again in beating Dubliner Mark Corcoran

Belfast bantams John Paul Hale and Colm Murphy renewed acquaintances just six days after their epic in the Ulsters. Hale won on Saturday at the Ulster Hall, knocking Murphy down in the first and surviving a final round onslaught. The duo delivered here again with another all-action encounter and it was Murphy who took the win on a 4-1 split.

World Championships quarter-finallist Amy Broadhurst wasn’t hanging around at lightweight, dropping Isobella Hughes numerous times en-route to a dominant win to set up a defence of her European U22 gold medal.

The fight of the night probably came in the men’s lightweight final, with the sensational Davey Oliver Joyce dethroning Paddy Adamus following an entralling contest where he was that bit sharper.

Pierce O’Leary brought the largest and loudest crowd of the night and the inner-city Dub – niceknamed ‘Big Bang’ – put in a heavy-hitting performance to beat Donegal’s Matthew McCole.

Elice Elliot would retain her welterweight title, defeating Dubliner Clodagh Greene – with the Crumlin club objecting strongly to the result.

Limerick welter Paddy Donovan and Galway middle Gabriel Dossen have both been tipped for stardom and both reclaimed their titles, overcoming spirited performances from Aaron Daly and John Joe Nevin respectively.

In the women’s middleweigh final, European U22 silver medallist Aoife O’Rourke stopped Renee Roche after a round, with the Mayo fighter not answering the bell for the second.

Waterford’s Kelyn Cassidy, moving up to light heavy, put in a smart performance to defeat the game Sean Conroy, peppering the Mayo man with shots en-route to a unanimous win.

Continuing with the big men, Limerick’s Kevin Sheehy retained his heavyweight title, outslugging Cavan’s Thomas Maughan before last, but not least, Galway’s Gytis Lisinskas closed the show with a first-round knockout of Luke Hall at super heavyweight

Also winning titles on the night, via walkovers, were Orinta Ringyte, Mary Geraghty, Shauna O’Callaghan, and Nell Fox.

National Men’s and Women’s U/22 Championships National Stadium Dublin
January 25
Finals (6.30pm)
48kg Courtney Daly (Crumlin) beat Ciara Walsh (Smithfield) 5-0
49kg Regan Buckley (St Teresa’s) beat Jack O’Neill (Corpus Christi) 5-0
51kg Niamh Earley (Ryston) beat Caitlyn Fryers (Immaculata) 5-0
52kg Adam Hession (Monivea) V Mark Corcoran (Corinthians) 5-0
54kg Orinta Ringyte (Riverstown) W/O
56kg Colm Murphy (St George’s) beat John Paul Hale (Star) 4-1
57kg Mary Geraghty (St Anthonys) W/O
60kg Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan) beat Isobella Hughes (Mount Tallant) 5-0
60kg David O Joyce (Ballymun) beat Patryk Adamus (Drimnagh) 5-0
64kg Shauna O’Callaghan (Clann Naofa) W/O
64kg Pierce O’Leary (Dublin Docklands) beat Matthew McCole (Dungloe) 5-0
69kg Elice Elliott (South Meath) beat Clodagh Greene (Crumlin)
69kg Patrick Donovan (OLOL) beat Aaron Daly (Castlebar) 5-0
75kg Aoife O’Rourke (Castlerea) beat Renee Roche (Castlebar) RSC1
75kg Gabriel Dossen (Olympic) beat John Joe Nevin (Crumlin) 5-0
81kg No Entries
81kg Kelyn Cassidy (St Saviours/Crystal) beat Sean Conroy (Castlebar) 5-0
81+kg Nell Fox (Rathkeale) W/O
91kg Kevin Sheehy (St Francis) beat Thomas Maughan (Cavan) 5-0
91+kg Gytis Lisinskas (Celtic Eagles) beat Luke Hall (Crumlin) RSC1


logo may

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: