AmateurHeadline News

IABA 2014 Award Winners- Joyce and Taylor pick up top awards

OLYMPIC champion Katie Taylor and David Oliver Joyce, both lightweights, scooped two of the top accolades at the Irish Amateur Boxing Association’s Annual Awards at the Louis Fitzgerald Hotel in Dublin tonight.

Taylor won her fifth and sixth successive AIBA World and European Elite titles this year, and Joyce, who beat Germany’s Artur Bril in AIBA Pro Boxing in Kazakhstan this afternoon, claimed his third consecutive Elite European Union gold in 2014.

Ireland’s Youth Olympians, Ciara Ginty, Michael Gallagher and Christina Desmond were also honoured this evening.

Ginty, the 2013 AIBA World Junior lightweight champion, won silver at the 2014 Youth Olympics in China and Gallagher took home bronze.

Ireland’s Elite, Youth and Junior boxers secured 28 World, European and Olympic (Youth) competition this year.

Kilkenny’s Claire Grace won bronze at the European Women’s Elite Championships to become the only Irish female boxer besides Taylor to medal at this level.

And talented Portlaoise BC prospect Michael Nevin finished on top of the 66kg podium at the European Junior Championships in Russia.

The Ryston BC in Kildare won the Best Club and Best Coaches Award yet again this evening, while Stephen Donnelly and Grace took home the Best Elite Male and Femal Awards.

Olive keogh was inducted into the Hall of Fame and Philip Rooney was presented with R&J Award.


Award Winners 2014

International Achievers Award

Katie Taylor (Bray)

David Oliver Joyce (St Michaels Athy)

Olympic (Youths) Achievers Award

Ciara Ginty (Geesala)

Michael Gallagher (Finn Valley)

Christina Desmond (Macroom)

Services to Boxing Award

Billy O’Donovan (Leeside Lough)

Tomy O’Mahoney (Edenmore)

Harry Doherty (Belfast)

Larry Morrison (Garda)

Hall of Fame (Administrator)
Olive Keogh

Best Club Award


Best Coaching Award


Best Referee/Judge

Philip Rooney (UCD)

Elite Men’s Award

Stephen Donnelly (All Saints)

Elite Women’s Award

Claire Grace (Callan)

Intermediate Men’s Award

Johnny Harty (Rathkeale)

Intermediate Women’s Award

Shanice Just (Arklow)

Male Youth Award

James Cleary (Olympic)

John Joyce (St Michaels Athy)

Female Youth Award

Kristina O’Hara (Emerald)

Amy Broadhurst (Dealgan)

Cheyanne O’Neill (Athlone)

Male Junior Award

Michael Nevin (Portlaoise)

Aaron McKenna (Old School)

Kieran Molloy (Oughterard)

Female Junior Award

Shaneen Flynn (Crumlin)

Schoolboy Award

Luke Hurley (Tramore)

Barry McReynolds (Holy Trinity)

Schoolgirl Award

Evelynn Igharo (Clann Naofa)


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years