Darren O’Neill and Tommy Murphy elected onto The Olympic Council of Ireland

Tommy Murphy, President of the Irish Amateur Boxing Association, and Darren O’Neill, who captained the Irish boxing team at the London 2012 Olympics, have been elected onto the Olympic Council of Ireland (OCI) Executive Committee.
The elections took place at the OCI AGM and the Conrad Hotel in Dublin last night. Please click here.
Pat Hickey was elected unopposed for a new four-year term as President of the OCI, extending a record term of office since 1989.
Pat Hickey had already beaten the previous longest term as President of the OCI, a record held by Lord Killanin, who had served for 23 years between 1950 and 1973.
Tommy Murphy said that the IABA is very proud of its continuous association with the OCI.
“It’s an honour to be elected to the Olympic Council of Ireland Executive Committee. Boxing has always been represented in the Olympic Council of Ireland from the very start and we’re very proud of that, he said.

“It’s also fantastic to see Darren O’Neill elected. Darren is a great stalwart of Irish boxing and Irish sport. Darren and the boys are in action over the next two days at the European Union Championships in Sofia. I am confident that our team will do us proud. They always do.
“It’s all about building up toward the Olympic Games in Rio in 2016 and the European Union Championships is a quality tournament in that regard.”


Integral part of the Irish boxing community for over 13 years