Belfast’s Olympic boxers to be honoured by the Lord Mayor


Belfast Lord Mayor Niall Ó Donnghaile will honour the city’s past, present and future Olympic Games boxing stars at the Belfast City Hall on February 24.

The city’s first citizen, a sports enthusiast, will welcome some of the greatest sporting athletes to emerge from the city to represent Ireland and GB in the greatest sporting event on earth.

A veritable who’s who of amateur boxing will attend the reception in honour and recognition of their achievements in the ring, and at the Olympic Games.

Stretching back to 1928, Belfast has punched above its weight by claiming a total of two silver and five bronze medals.

This event, which has been organised by the Belfast Boxing Ring, aims to showcase the achievements of the local amateur fraternity and inspire the local boxers attending the Olympic Games in London this year.
Secretary of the Belfast Boxing Ring, Barry Flynn, said that the gathering will be an historic one and will provide an opportunity for many old friendships to be rekindled.

He added: “The city has a pedigree in amateur boxing that is truly remarkable. When you consider the wealth of talent Belfast has produced at Olympic level, it can only but inspire young boxers today to emulate such achievements.

1928 – Jack Garland (Beechmount) Team GB 1948 – Willie Barnes (Windsor) 1952 – John McNally (White City) 1952 – Terry Milligan (Short and Harland) 1952 – John Lyttle (St. George’s) 1956 – John Caldwell (Immaculata) 1956 – Freddie Gilroy (St. John Bosco) 1956 – Martin Smyth (Star) 1960 – Berni Meli (Immaculata) 1960 – Adam McClean (Crown) 1964 – Jim McCourt (Immaculata) 1964 – Paddy Fitzsimons (St. George’s) 1964 – Sean McCafferty (St. John Bosco) 1968 – Martin Quinn (St. John Bosco) 1968 – Jim McCourt (Immaculata) 1972 – Jim Montague (Star) 1976 – David Larmour (Albert Foundry) 1976 – Gerry Hamill (Holy Family) 1980 – Hugh Russell (Holy Family) 1980 – Gerry Hawkins (Holy Trinity) 1984 – Sam Storey (Holy Family) 1984 – Gerry Hawkins (Holy Trinity) 1988 – Wayne McCullough (Albert Foundry) 1988 – Paul Douglas (Holy Family) 1988 – John Lowey (Ledley Hall) 1992 – Wayne McCullough (Albert Foundry) 1996 – Damaen Kelly (Holy Trinity) 1996 – Brian Magee (Holy Trinity) 2008 – Paddy Barnes (Holy Family) 2012 – Michael Conlon (St. John Bosco)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

10 + 4 =