Awards for Quigley, Nevin, Ginty, Donoghue and more in IABA awards

Jason Quigley, Ciara Ginty and Willie Donoghue scooped the Outstanding Achievements Awards at the IABA Annual Awards at the Louis Fitzgerald Hotel in Dublin.

The Donegal, Mayo and Kildare trio reached AIBA World Elite and Junior finals in 2013.

World No.2 ranked middleweight Quigley became the first Irish male boxer to reach an AIBA Elite final and Ginty and Donoghue followed in the footsteps of Joe Ward, who claimed World Junior gold in 2009.

The EU Women’s Elite, Youth and Junior Championships gold medal winners – including Katie Taylor, who claimed five in-a-row, – were also honoured.

Stephen Kirk, a bronze medal winner at the 1997 World Elite Championships in Budapest and a three-time Irish Elite champion, was inducted into the IABA Hall of Fame, along with Noel Kehoe, one of the great servants of Irish boxing.

The Ryston BC in Kildare were celebrating on the double after scooping the Best Club and Coaching Award.

IABA President Tommy Murphy hailed another outstanding year at the Louis Fitzgerald Hotel.

He said: β€œOur boxers have once again done their country proud in international competition.

β€œThey have won medals in every World and European tournament they have competed in and in five of those tournaments they have won the best boxer awards.

β€œThat is a fantastic statistic by any standard and everyone concerned deserves enormous praise, particularly the clubs and coaches and staff that have dedicated so much time and effort.

β€œTonight we are celebrating another outstanding year for our sport. Our boxers are a consistent source of pride to the Irish Amateur Boxing Association.”


IABA Annual Awards Louis Fitzgerald Hotel Dublin December 13th (8pm)

Award Winners

Jordan Myers (Innisfree) – Schoolboy

Aaron McKenna (Old School) Schoolboy

Natasha Logan (Ryston) – Schoolgirl

John Joyce (St Michaels Athy) – Junior

Jacqui Lynch (GG Belmullet) – Junior

Katie Taylor (Bray) – Elite

Kristina O’Hara (Emerald Belfast) – Youth

Amy Broadhurst (Delagan) – Junior

Grainne Gavin (Castlebar) – Junior

Gary Cully (St Davids Naas) – Youth

Christina Desmond (Macroom) – Youth

Sean Duffy (Holy Trinity) – Intermediate

Joanna Lambe (Carrickmacross) – Intermediate

Adam Nolan (Bray)– Elite

Michaela Walsh (Holy Family GG) – Elite

Best Club – Ryston BC

Coaching Award – Ryston BC

Best R/J – Paddy Keogh (Dublin Docklands)

Hall of Fame – Noel Kehoe (Marble City) Stephen Kirk (Cairn Lodge)

World Achievement Award – Billy McClean and Gerry Storey(Holy Family GG)

Outstanding Achievement Awards: Ciara Ginty (Geesala), Willie Donohue (St Michaels Athy), Jason Quigley (Finn Valley)

Services to Boxing awards – Maurice Walsh (St Colmans), Frank Gervin (Clonoe)

Appreciation Award: John Joe Nevin (Cavan)

Presidents Special Award: Joe Charles (Claremorris), Pat McCrory (Glengormley)