AmateurHeadline News

National Novice Championships quarter final results


Day 2 of the National Novice Championships was completed at the National Stadium in Dublin this afternoon.

13 bouts were decided at IABA headquarters. Please scroll down for results and corresponding draws.

The semi-finals and finals will be resolved next Friday and Saturday.

Friday’s semi-finals begin at 7pm.


Friday – 8am to 9am and 12pm to 1pm at National Stadium

Saturday – 8am to 9am and 12pm to 1pm at National Stadium

2019 National Men’s and Women’s Novice Championships National Stadium

Saturday, September 14



64kg Anthony Reddy (Drimnagh) W/O)
64kg Timothy Burns (Canal) beat Jamiu Adio (St Marys D) AB3
64kg Jean Toko (Mulhuddart) beat Jim Gargan (UCD) 5-0
64kg Darren O’Connor (NUIG) beat Shane Cunningham (Rush) 4-1
75kg Enda Brody (Angels) W/O
75kg Daniel O’Sullivan (Lucan) beat Lorenzo Mihai (Docklands) 4-1
75kg James Fitzpatrick (St Davids) beat Matthew Johansson (Crumlin) RSC3
75kg Nathan Flynn (CIE) beat James Finney (Mount Tallant) 5-0


57kg Lee Crawford (St Matthews) beat Zennin Wong (UCD) 5-0
60kg Andreas Clemenger (Smithfield) W/O
60kg Ali Bayo (Westside) beat John Nolan (Drimnagh) 5-0
71kg Michael Sullivan (Angels) beat Luke Comaskey (Olympic Mullingar) 5-0
71kg Caolan Dines (Dealgan) beat Shane Doherty (Darndale) RSC1

Friday, September 13



64kg Darren O’Connor (NUIG) beat Conor Donoghue (St Michaels Athy) 5-0
75kg James Finney (Mount Tallant) beat David Clyne (Maynooth) 5-0
75kg Nathan Flynn (CIE) beat PJ Kelly (Twin Towns) RSC2


60kg Ali Bayo (Westside) beat Christian Clarke (Phibsboro) 5-0
60kg John Nolan (Drimnagh) W/O
71kg Michael Sullivan (Angels) beat Sean McDonnell (Drimnagh) 5-0
71kg Caolan Dines (Dealgan) beat Peter McLoughlin (Rush) 5-0
71kg Shane Doherty (Darndale) beat Evan Browne (Darndale) 4-1
81kg Rudolfas Remickas (DCU) beat Sean Nolan (Darndale) 5-0
81kg Larry Redmond (Ballybrack) beat Jonathan Lodder (Twin Towns) 5-0
81kg Alan Molloy (Gorey) beat Ronan Kelly (Olympic Mullingar) 4-1
91kg Jason Sherlock (Drumsna) Jason English W/O
91kg Michael Rudolf (Crumlin) beat Michael Ryan (Four Kings) 4-1
91+kg Isreal Akinnroye (DCU) beat Sean Kelly (Four Kings) 5-0

Friday, September 20



64kg Anthony Reddy (Drimnagh) V Tomothy Burns (Canal)
64kg Jean Toko (Mulhuddart) V Darren O’Connor (NUIG)
70kg Mary Enright (Setanta) V Sarah Tyrell (Ballaghaderreen)
75kg Enda Brody (Angels) V Daniel O’Sullivan (Lucan)
75kg James Fitzpatrick (St Davids) V Nathan Flynn (CIE)
81kg Andrzej Rutkowski (Corpus Christi) V Rudolfas Remickas (DCU)
81kg Larry Redmond (Ballybrack) V Alan Molloy (Gorey)
85kg Leon Lynch (Muskerry) V Anthony Ormond (Donore)
85kg Brian Gillard (Dunboyne) V Jordan Carney (Drimnagh)
91kg Dadejvis Gjini (Darndale) V Damien Singerzeon (Bay City)
91kg Jason Sherlock (Drumsna) V Michael Rudolf (Crumlin)
91+kg Samuel Ilesanmi (St Marys D) V Augustine Eze (Crumlin)
91+kg Keith McEneaney (Dealgan) V Isreal Akinnroye (DCU)

Saturday, September 21



48kg Stephanie Donnelly (Legends U) W/O
50kg Shannon Byrne (Olympic Mullingar) W/O
52kg Bianca O’Donovan (Olympic C) V Katarzyna Radomsa (St Pauls W)
57kg Dearbhla Snow (Togher) W/O
57kg Kevin Cummins (Mount Tallant) V Lee Crawford (St Matthews)
60kg Leah Cassidy (Angels) W/O
60kg Andreas Clemenger (Smithfield) V Ali Bayo (Westside)
63kg Megan Woods (Loughshore) V Christine Waters (Navan)
64kg Winner V Winner
66kg Rachel Buchanan (Castlebar) W/O
67kg Scott Long (Muskerry) V Anthony Coleman (Sparticus)
70kg Caoimhe Commins (Ballinacarrow) V Winner
71kg Michael Sullivan (Angels) V Caolan Dines (Dealgan)
75kg Winner V Winner
81kg Winner V Winner
80+kg Liveta Lazhuskaike (Olympic Mullingar)W/O
85kg Winner V Winner
91kg Winner V Winner
91+kg Winner V Winner


Jonny Stapleton contributor for 15 years and editor for the past decade. Have been covering boxing for over 16 years and writing about sports for a living for over 20 years. Former Assistant Sports editor for the Gazette News Paper Group and former Tallaght Voice Sports Editor. Have had work published in publications around the world when working as a freelance journalist. Also co-founder of Junior Sports Media and Leinster Rugby PRO of the Year winner. email: