National Elite Senior Championships – DAY 2

Tonight sees the second session in the 2018 Liffey Crane Hire Senior Elite Championships, with quarter finals and semi finals up for decision at the home of Irish boxing.

Action gets underway at the National Stadium in Dublin at 7:00pm and there are a number of tantalising bouts on the agenda.

Unfortunately, last year’s runner-up Kenny Okungbowa has been forced to withdraw from his heavyweight quarter with Intermediate and U22 champion Kevin Sheehy and the Limerick teen progressed to face Liam Greene in tomorrow’s semi.

In tonight’s quarters, Michael Nevin makes his Seniors debut. The highly-rated Portlaoise teenager faces experienced Dub David Biscevas. Also at middleweight, on the other side of the draw, Brett McGinty will have his first fight at the weight. The Donegal-Derry puncher came in second at welterweight last year.

In the semis, at bantamweight, there is a repeat of the 2015 flyweight final with Myles Casey and Evan Metcalfe doing battle once again. Casey won last time out and has received a bye to the semis here while Metcalfe defeated Dublin rival Adam Courtney last weekend.

There is also a repeat of the 2017 lightweight final, with reigning champion Pat Mongan locking horns with George Bates once again.

At welterweight 2016 Intermediate champions Eugene McKeever and Tony McGlynn meet in the middle and face-off – having won their intermediate titles at 64kg and 75kg respectively.

However, the tie of the round looks to be the other welterweight semi-final, with reigning champion Dean Walsh going up against the super-talented Galway youngster Kieran Molloy.

Tickets prices for this’s weekend’s quarter-finals and semi-finals are €15 for adults and €5 for children (U/15). Admission is payable at the door on tonight and tomorrow evening.

2018 National Elite Men’s and Women’s National Elite Championships National Stadium Dublin
Friday February 16th (7pm)
69kg Connie Vaughan (Duhallow) V Ciara Sheedy (Ardnaree)
75kg Kelyn Cassidy (Saviours Crystal) V Peter Carr (Crumlin)
75kg Glory Carlos Imuala (Maynooth) V Brett McGinty (Oakleaf)
75kg John Maughan (St Marys Dublin) V Gerard French (Clonard Antrim)
75kg Michael Nevin (Portlaoise) V David Biscevas (St Saviours OBA)
81kg Brian Kennedy (St Marys Daingean) V Robert Burke (Glasnevin)
81kg Tony Browne (St Michaels Dub) V Davit Tsotsoria (Illies GG)
91kg Kevin Sheehy (St Francis) WO Kenneth Okungbowa (Athlone)

57kg Dervla Duffy (Mulhuddart) V Ashley McCullough (Albert Foundry)
56kg Myles Casey (St Francis) V Evan Metcalfe (Hyland Academy)
56kg Thomas McCarthy (Setanta) V Christian Cekiso (Portlaoise)
60kg Patrick Mongan (Olympic) V George Bates (St Marys Dublin)
60kg Francis Cleary (Ballina) V Adam Kelly (Portlaoise)
64kg Keith Flavin (Paulstown) V Wayne Kelly (Portlaoise)
64kg Caoimhin Ferguson (Clonard A) V Colm Quinn (Castlebar)
69kg Dean Walsh (St Ibars) V Kieran Molloy (Oughterard)
69kg Eugene McKeever (Holy Family D) V Tony McGlynn (Crumlin)
91+kg Patrick Nevin (St Michaels Dub) V Dean Gardiner (Clonmel)


Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: