AmateurHeadline News

Irish boxers claim double GOLD at European Schoolboys/girls Championships

Ireland’s young talents claimed a pair of gold medals at the European Schoolboys/girls Championships following a week of fantastic performances in Georgia.

Dublin 90kg Adam Olaniyan and Wexford 38kg Caoimhe Kinsella both secured top honours in the continental under-14s tournament in Tblisi.

Jobstown’s Olaniyan dominated the home favourite in the Georgian capital, winning a wide unanimous decision.

The fleet-footed heavyweight overcame Davit Stepulenko on Day 1 of finals before Kinsella claimed a big stoppage win this morning.

The St Anthony’s/St Pat’s southpaw couldn’t miss Turk Gulcan Turgul with straight lefts and the fight was waved off after a number of standing counts.

There was less joy however for Esther Lambe, Sean Tyndall, Michael McCarthy, Katie O’Keefe, Georgia McGovern, and Ava Rose Lyndon who will all be bringing home silver.

McCarthy and McGovern lost out to strong Italian opposition, Tyndall was defeated by home favourite Gor Ayvazian in one of the fights of the tournament, while Lambe and O’Keefe were both unlucky to be on the wrong end of split decisions.

In the last bout of Irish interest of the championships Lyndon was gobsmacked to be defeated by England’s Paris Smith on a unanimous decision have looked the better boxer during a high-quality 64kg decider.

Earlier in the week bronzes had been won by Roy Farrelly Colgan, Laurence Connors, Thomas Ward, Caolan Devlin, Carlagh Mularney, Shakira McCrudden, Carleigh Irving, Nora Jackman, Alicia King, and Gabrielle Mongan

Overall, Team Ireland will be bringing home two gold, six silver and ten bronze.

Team Ireland are due to arrive home via Dublin Airport at 10am tomorrow [Monday] morning.

Flight details – Turkish TK1975 12 AUG Istanbul @ 0725 & Dublin @ 1000 (Terminal 1)).

2019 European Schoolboy/girls Championships Tbilisi, Georgia

August 10
41,5kg Sean Tyndall (Ireland) lost to Gor Ayvazian (Georgia) 0-5
44kg Esther Lambe (Ireland) lost to Polina Mishenko (Ukraine) 2-3
62kg Micheal McCarthy (Ireland) lost to Tiziano Gugieman (Italy) 0-5
90kg Adam Olaniyan (Ireland) beat Davit Stepulenko (Georgia) 5-0

August 11
38kg Caoimhe Kinsella (Ireland) beat Gulcan Turgul (Turkey) RSC
42kg Katie O’Keeffe (Ireland) lost to Aurika Kostrytska (Ukraine) Split
51kg Georgia McGovern (Ireland) lost to Matia Sannino (Italy) 0-5
64kg Ava Rose Lyndon (Ireland) lost to Paris Smith (England)

August 9
36kg Carlagh Mullarney (Ireland) lost to Sophie Harker (England) 1-4
38kg Caoimhe Kinsella (Ireland) beat Tamar Samelia (Georgia) 5-0
40kg Shakira McCrudden (Ireland) lost to Laila Abdullatif (Cyprus) 0-5
40kg Roy Colgan (Ireland) lost to Murad Tagin (Georgia) 0-5
41,5kg Sean Tyndall (Ireland) beat Vitas Hartsuyeu (Belarus) 4-1
42kg Katie O’Keeffe (Ireland) beat Ferraris Matiloe (Italy) RSC1
44kg Esther Lambe (Ireland) beat Akdi Cansu (Turkey) 5-0
46kg Carleigh Irving (Ireland) lost to Jessica Keeton (England) 0-5
48kg Nora Jackman (Ireland) lost to Alice Pumprey (England) 0-5
51kg Georgia McGovern (Ireland) beat Silvija Karavackaite (Lithuania) 5-0
56kg Laurence Connors (Ireland) lost to Arthur Mkrtchyen (Armenia) 0-5
57kg Alicia King (Ireland) lost to Luisa Acconcia (Italy) 1-4
60kg Gabrielle Mongan (Ireland) lost to Louis Briggs (England) 0-5
62kg Micheal McCarthy (Ireland) beat Mikita Bruyev (Belarus) 3-2
68kg Thomas Ward (Ireland) lost to Ethan Moore (England) 0-5
64kg Ava Rose Lyndon (Ireland) beat Sudenaz Balioglu (Turkey) RSC3
76kg Caolan Devlin (Ireland) lost to Mateo Pejic (Croatia) 0-5
90kg Adam Olaniyan (Ireland) beat Alex Ardeieanu (Romania) 5-0
August 7
38.5kg Kai Griffin (Ireland) lost to Luka Tsuleiskirl (Georgia) 2-3
40kg Roy Colgan (Ireland) beat Tom Odlozilik (Czech Rep) 5-0
43kg Kyle Smith (Ireland) lost to Yehor Kirylus (Ukraine) 2-3
46kg Blaine Fitzgerald O’Sullivan (Ireland) lost to Arman Miskaryan (Armenia) 0-5
48kg Padraig Stapleton (Ireland) lost Anatolli Yem (Ukraine) 2-3
50kg James O’Reilly Thornhill (Ireland) lost to Hlib Hryhorian (Ukraine) 0-5
54kg Cole Byrne (Ireland) lost to Narek Nersisyan (Armenia) 0-5
56kg Laurence Connors (Ireland) beat Sven Cuppen (Netherlands) 3-2
59kg Patrick Stokes (Ireland) lost to Danil Afanasyeu (Belarus) 0-5
62kg Micheal McCarthy (Ireland) beat Kian Govan (Scotland) 5-0
76kg Caolan Devlin (Ireland) beat Islam Huseynli (Azerbaijan) 5-0

August 6
41,5kg Sean Tyndall (Ireland) beat Matko Stojanovic (Croatia) RSC2
42kg Katie O’Keeffe (Ireland) beat Jocelyn Kilkenny (England) 5-0
44kg Esther Lambe (Ireland) beat Miria Rossetti (Italy) 5-0
46kg Carleigh Irving (Ireland) beat Pinar Ozkan (Turkey) 4-1
48kg Nora Jackman (Ireland) beat Dragana Jovanovic (Serbia) 5-0
52kg Lee McEvoy (Ireland) lost to Demur Kajaia (Georgia) 0-5
54kg Niamh Keogh (Ireland) lost to Izabel Devenyi (Hungary) 0-5
68kg Thomas Ward (Ireland) beat Yahor Prudnikau (Belarus) 5-0
70kg Breanna Ryan Tobin (Ireland) lost to Tatia Bukia (Georgia) 0-5
90kg Adam Olaniyan (Ireland) beat Avetik Hovakimyan (Armenia) 5-0
80kg Bernard Cawley (Ireland) lost to Yehor Harutyunyan (Ukraine) 0-5
90kg+ Danny O’Brien (Ireland) lost to Lovro Pavcec (Croatia) 0-5

August 5
Last 16
38.5kg Kai Griffin (Ireland) beat Fjodor Kamanin (Spain) 5-0
40kg Roy Colgan (Ireland) beat Ellul Cayden (Malta) RSC2
43kg Kyle Smith (Ireland) beat Saoeha Yaroslav (Belarus) 5-0
48kg Padraig Stapleton (Ireland) beat Georgios Pleas (Greece) 5-0
54kg Cole Byrne (Ireland) beat Gasimili Mehman (Azerbaijan) 5-0
56kg Laurence Connors (Ireland) beat Fuad Babayev (Azerbaijan) 5-0
72kg Ryan Collins (Ireland) lost to Oleksii Stepanov (Ukraine) 1-4

August 4
Last 16
44.5kg Malo Davis (Ireland) lost to Kiril Bazhenov (Ukraine) 0-5
52kg Lee McEvoy (Ireland) beat Antonio Hauer (Czech Republic) 5-0
Last 32
54kg Cole Byrne (Ireland) beat Dan Sablinski (Lithuania) 5-0

Irish squad
38.5kg Kai Ducque Griffin (Drimnagh)
40kg Roy Farrelly Colgan (Avona) Captain (Bronze)
41.5kg Sean Tyndall (Dublin Docklands) (Silver)
43kg Kyle Thomas Smith (Holy Trinity)
44.5kg Malo Davis (Monkstown Dublin)
46kg Blaine Fitzgerald O’Sullivan (Corinthians)
48kg Padraig Flynn Stapleton (Monkstown Dublin)
50kg James O’Reilly Thornhill (Togher)
52kg Lee McEvoy (Avona)
54kg Cole Byrne (Enniskerry)
56kg Laurence Connors (St Mary’s Dublin) (Bronze)
59kg Patrick Stokes (St Johns Derry)
62kg Micheal McCarthy (Urlingford) (Silver)
68kg Thomas Ward (Carrickmore) Vice Captain (Bronze)
72kg Ryan Collins Murphy (Neilstown)
76kg Caolan Devlin (Mark Heagney) (Bronze)
80kg Bernard Cawley (St David’s Naas)
90kg Adam Olaniyan (Jobstown) (Gold)
90kg+ Danny O’Brien (Shadows)

36kg Carlagh Mullarney (Ballyhaunis) (Bronze)
38kg Caoimhe Kinsella (St Anthony’s Pats) (Golde)
40kg Shakira McCrudden (Riverside) (Bronze)
42kg Katie O’Keeffe (Kanturk) (Silver)
44kg Esther Lambe (Setanta) (Silver)
46kg Carleigh Irving (Illies Golden Gloves) (Bronze)
48kg Nora Jackman (Paulstown) (Bronze)
51kg Georgia Dunne McGovern (Drimnagh) Captain (Silver)
54kg Niamh Keogh (Olympic Mullingar)
57kg Alicia King (Ratoath Golden Gloves) (Bronze)
60kg Gabrielle Mongan (Whitechurch) (Bronze)
64kg Ava Rose Henry Lyndon (Glin) Vice Captain (Silver, at least)
70kg Breanna Ryan Tobin (Spartan)

IABA President: Dominic O’Rourke (St Michaels Athy)
Team Managers: Stephen Connolly (Curragh) & Jennifer O’Sullivan (Sliabh Luachra)
Coaches: Eve Carr (St Michael’s Athy),Patrick Gallagher (Maynooth), James O’Neill (Clann Naofa), Martin Donovan (O.L.O.L.), Killian Walsh (Dungarvan), Paul Archbold (St David’s Naas)


Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: