IABA Centenary Calendar

9 November 2010 – Bernard O’Neill

Boxing fans are advised that the Irish Amateur Boxing Association Centenary Year Calendar is still on sale for a knock out price of just 10.

Featuring all of Ireland’s Olympic heroes over the last 58 years, the 13-month Centenary Almanac stretches from January 2011 to January 2012.

John McNally, John Caldwell, Fred Gilroy,Tony Byrne, Fred Tiedt, Jim McCourt, Hugh Russell, Wayne McCullough, Michael Carruth, Paddy Barnes, Darren Sutherland and Ken Egan feature.

All twelve boxers finished in podium positions at Olympic level, making boxing Ireland’s most successful Olympic sport.

Ryan Burnett, who won an historic gold medal for Ireland at the Youth Olympics this year, is also included.

The Centenary Year Calendar, which is sponsored by the Olympic Council of Ireland, features profiles on each boxer by author Barry Flynn and was published and produced by Dominic Kiernan of the IABA and Siobhan Madigan of RTE.

Three-time AIBA World lightweight champion Katie Taylor, Joe Ward, who has won AIBA World Junior and Youth titles, and 2008 World Youth champion Ray Moylette also feature.

Each profile is accompanied by a selection of top class photographs stretching back to 1952 when McNally claimed silver at the 15th Olympiad in Helsinki.

For further information e-mail dkiernan@eircom.net or contact the National Stadium on (01) 454 3525.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19 + fifteen =