IABA awards set for next week

15 January 2009 – Press Release

The Irish Amateur Boxing Association will proudly honour some of the top boxers in the World and Europe at their 8th Annual Awards Dinner at the Red Cow Moran Hotel in Dublin on Friday, January 23.

Irish boxers claimed medals at every international tournament entered last year, confirming 2008 as one of the most successful twelve months in the 97-year history of the IABA.

Amateur boxing was also Ireland’s most successful international sport in 2008.

Irish boxers finished in podium positions at the Olympic Games, the AIBA Women’s World Championships, the AIBA World Youth Championships, the European Championships, and the men’s and women’s European Union Championships to name but six international tournaments.

Additionally, Katie Taylor, who won her second World title on the trot in November, also picked up the AIBA best female boxer of 2008 award.

Mongolian bantamweight Badar-Uugan Enkhbat, who beat Ireland’s John Joe Nevin en route to gold at the 29th Olympiad in Beijing, claimed the AIBA best male boxer of 2008 award.

Taylor, Ken Egan, Paddy Barnes, Darren Sutherland, John Joe Joyce, John Joe Nevin, Ray Moylett, Jamie Kavanagh, Thomas McCarthy, David Joe Joyce, David Oliver Joyce, Eamon O’Kane, Ross Hickey and Con Sheehan were some of the boxers that made the headlines throughout 2008.

For ticket information on the 8th IABA Annual Awards Dinner contact the National Stadium on (01) 454 3525.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four × four =