Elite Open Championship Draw

IABA Press Officer Bernard O’Neill
Beijing Olympian John Joe Joyce and 2010 Commonwealth champion Paddy Gallagher will get the Open Unseeded Elite Competition underway at the National Stadium in Dublin tonight.
The St Michael’s Athy BC versus Gleann BC 69Kg clash is one of five welterweight duels slated from decision this evening.
Adam Nolan, the current Elite welterweight champion, will be in quarter-final action versus Niall Murray tomorrow morning.
Thursday’s quarter-final will also feature two all Holy Trinity BC Belfast last eight deciders in the lightweight and middleweight categories.
European bronze medalists Eric Donovan and EU champ David Oliver Joyce, both of the St Michael’s Athy BC, will also be in action Thursday.
Meanwhile, 2008 Olympic silver medalist Ken Egan has moved up from light-heavyweight to heavyweight.
And Con Sheehan, the current heavyweight champ, has moved up to super-heavyweight.
Egan will meet Tommy McCarthy  – a repeat of the 2009 and 2010 light-heavyweight finals which Egan won – in Friday’s semi-finals.
Sheehan, meanwhile, meets current Elite super-heavyweight champ Cathal McMonagle in the last four on Friday.
The semi-finals will be decided over two sessions Friday. The finals will be held Saturday beginning at 3pm.
Fifty three boxers weighed in for the Open this morning.
Open Unseeded Elite Competition National Stadium Dublin.
August 10th
Preliminaries (7pm)
69Kg: Paddy Gallagher (Gleann) v John Joe Joyce (St Michael’s Athy)
69Kg: Karl Brabazon (St Saviours OBA) v  Martin Wall (Crumlin)
69Kg: Fergal Redmond (Arklow) v Paul Upton (Holy Family GG)
69Kg: Brian Brosnan (Crumlin) v Michael Reilly (Portlaoise)
69Kg: Graham Hogan (Crumlin) v Stephen Donnelly (All Saints
August 11th
Quarter-final (11am)
56Kg; Shane Cox (Gorey) v Tyrone McCullagh (Holy Family GG)
60Kg: Sean McComb (Holy Trinity) v Mark O’Hara (Holy Trinity)
60Kg: Eric Donovan (St Michael’s Athy) v Gavin Keating (St Saviours OBA)
69Kg: Niall Murray (Gorey) v Adam Nolan (Bray)
69Kg; Roy Sheehan (St Michael’s Athy) v TBA
69Kg: TBA v TBA
69Kg: TBA v TBA
75Kg: Stephen O’Reilly (Twintowns) v Conor Coyle (St Josephs)
75Kg: Shane Murtagh (Crumlin) v Rory O’Donoghue (Watergrasshill)
75Kg: Shane Murtagh (Holy Trinity) v David Walsh (Holy Trinity)
75Kg: Jason Quigley (Finn Valley) v Andrew Jennings (St Catherines)
91+Kg: Chris Devanney (Dockers) v Ken Okungbowa (Athlone)
August 12th
Semi- Finals 2pm
52Kg: Michael Conlon (St John Bosco) v Declan Geraghty (Crumlin)
52Kg: Chris Phelan (Ryston) v Ruairi Dalton (Holy Trinity)
56Kg: Danny Coughlan (St Anne’s) v Michael Stephens (Drimnagh)
56Kg: Glen Murray (St Saviours OBA) v Winner
60Kg: Anthony Upton (Holy Family GG) v Winner
60Kg: Winner v Winner
64Kg: Ross Hickey (Grangecon) v Stephen Carroll (Drimnagh)
64Kg: Sonny Upton (Holy Family GG) v Philip Sutcliffe (Crumlin)
Semi- finals (7pm)
69Kg: Winner v Winner
69Kg: Winner v Winner
75Kg: Winner v Winner
75Kg: Winner v Winner
81Kg: Patrick O’Shea (Sunnyside) v Danny O’Brien (St Lukes)
91Kg: Stephen Ward (Monkstown) v Jimmy Sweeney (Drimnagh)
91Kg: Tommy McCarthy (Oliver Plunkett) v Ken Egan (Neilstown)
91+kg; Con Sheehan (Clonmel) v Cathal McMonagle (Holy Trinity

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *