New President of IABA elected at Annual Convention

By Bernard O’Neill – IABA Press Officer

Laois’s Pat Ryan has been elected President of the Irish Amateur Boxing Association (IABA).

The new IABA President, coach to current European Games champion and World No. 7 ranked middleweight Michael O’Reilly, European Junior champion Michael Nevin and many top prospects at the Portlaoise BC, was elected at the IABA Annual Convention in Ennis, Clare today.

“It is an honour and a privilege to be elected President of the Irish Amateur Boxing Association and I would like to thank everyone for their tremendous support,” said Pat Ryan after today’s result was announced in the Banner County.

Ryan received 156 votes from Ireland’s Provincial Councils, County Boards and Clubs.

Former IABA President Domenic O’Rourke and Joe Hennigan, who is Irish Team Manager at the AIBA World Elite Championships in Doha, Qatar, were the other two candidates for the position.

Galway’s Joe Hernon was elected Vice President this afternoon. Ryan and Hernon replace Tommy Murphy and Sean Canavan who are stepping down after years of loyal service as IABA President and Vice President.

Sean Crowley was re-elected IABA Secretary today with 171 votes. Stephen Connolly and Larry Morrison were returned unopposed as IABA Registrar and Treasure respectively.

IABA Annual Convention 2015 Ennis, Clare

IABA Officer Board

President: Pat Ryan (elected)
Vice President: Joe Hernon (elected)
Secretary: Sean Crowley (re-elected)
Registrar: Stephen Connolly (unopposed)
Treasurer: Larry Morrisson (unopposed)

Members of the Boxing Council (votes in brackets)

Seamus Dowling (243), Eugene O’Kane (234), Paddy Osborne (219) Philip Rooney (200), Larry Durand (197), Gerry Storey (172), Antoinette Faye (129), Mary Butler (128)

Joe O'Neill

Reporting on Irish boxing the past five years. Work has appeared on, Boxing News,, and local and national media. Provide live ringside updates, occasional interviews, and special features on the future of Irish boxing. email: