Fury’s shot rules Roggie out of Prizefighter
By Jonny Stapleton
THE hook to the body Tyson Fury landed to stop Martin Rogan in their Irish title fight last April also knocked ‘The Iron Man” out of Prizefighter the Internationals.
Eddie Hearn revealed he offered the inaugural Prizefighter winner a slot on the most recent helping of the tournament that screams knockout in more ways than one, a number of months ago.
Fight fans feared the Belfast heavyweights absence from the International version of the tournament, which played out last Wednesday night, was a sign he had retired.
Rogan, however dismissed such talk, told IrishBoxing.com he hadn’t hung up his glove and revealed a rib injury ruled him out of Prizefighter.
The former Commonwealth champion had been suffering the effects of Irish Champ Fury’s body blow and felt Prizefighter came too soon for him to participate.
“To be honest my body was still sore when I go the call for Prizefighter. I went to the gym and started back training, but it was even painful to do a sit up. My ribs needed a bit more time. They are fine now, but Prizefighter came a little too soon. I am not retired and I hope to have news of my next fight over the next week,” Rogan explained.